Professor Layton & The Last Specter

And so I finished my first game of the year. Since I have no clue what to post today I might as well write a short opinion about it!

Out of the 4 games I can honestly say that this one gets 2nd place. I love all them all, but story wise this was one of the more acceptable and believable games. Honestly, The Unwound Future was a good game, but a replica of future London in the build under actual London was stretching it for me. The story in this one is a lot more realistic and feels more like The Curious Village. With this information you should now be able to work out which one is my favorite, it’s like a puzzle! (worth like only 5 picarats, but still). I could work out several mystery’s before the game actually revealed them, but there was still a good amount of answers I had as well. I really liked seeing the professor and Luke meeting up for the first time, and personally I really like Emmy as a character. As with every game the animation and art are inspiring to me and the town of Misthallery is beautifully designed. It’s stuff like this why I’m into drawing.

Music fits the scenery too and especially the puzzle theme is still firmly stuck in my head. I know it’s just going to pop in my head every time I have to think about something for the next few weeks, because I’m nerdy like that. The puzzles themselves were balanced, but a few with a high picarat amount I found ridiculously easy. Then again, a few that were only 20 picarats had me stuck. Puzzle 145 specifically drove me insane and the one with the UFO I still can’t solve. Lastly there’s the minigames, which I still need to complete and will be doing so in the next few days. They’re nothing too special, but fun, so no complaints there. I think that kinda covers most of it, so all in all, really good game, as I’ve come to expect from Layton.  I’m looking forward to the next game as always.

And in other unrelated and totally unimportant news, my toes are cold. See you this weekend!

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

